Office 365 Integration

The Really Simple Systems integration with Office 365 is currently available for beta testing. If you wish to participate in the test please contact us on ask@reallysimplesystems.com.

The Really Simple Systems integration with Office 365 allows you to synchronise your contacts and tasks to and from your Office 365 accounts and the CRM. The integration lets you easily compile emails in Office 365 and manage the view of your day to day operations in our own calendar. 

Integrating the two systems will create a folder in Office 365 titled Really Simple Systems. Only contacts added to this folder will be synchronised with your Really Simple Systems CRM.

As your Really Simple Systems CRM is “account based”, a contact cannot be created without being associated with a CRM account. To capture contacts from Office 365 that do not have a Company name associated, a CRM account titled “From Office 365″ will be automatically created in your CRM.

Synchronisation

Updating every 5 minutes, all accounts linked to Office 365 are checked for new, edited or deleted contacts and tasks and synchronises the data. The data updates by duplicating the data across both systems, except for contacts and tasks deleted in Office 365 which will not automatically be deleted in the CRM.

This table shows which actions are or are not covered:

Object Source Destination Operation Replicated
Contact O365 CRM Create Y
Contact O365 CRM Read Y
Contact O365 CRM Update Y
Contact O365 CRM Delete N
Contact CRM O365 Create Y
Contact CRM O365 Read Y
Contact CRM O365 Update Y
Contact CRM O365 Delete Y
Task O365 CRM Create Y
Task O365 CRM Read Y
Task O365 CRM Update Y
Task O365 CRM Delete N
Task CRM O365 Create Y
Task CRM O365 Read Y
Task CRM O365 Update Y
Task CRM O365 Delete Y

Setting Up Office 365 Integration

To set-up your Office 365 integration, to go to Settings > Integrations > Email, Contacts & Calendars Integrations and then click on the Setup button for Office 365.

O365.0

This will take you through a series of steps designed to log you into the Microsoft systems and allow the CRM to access your data on their servers:

The first steps is to launch the Microsoft OAuth window. You can do that by clicking the Connect to Microsoft button.

O365.1

This will take you to the Microsoft login page where you can enter your details and be logged in through their systems. This will generate an authentication code which we can be used for further communication with their servers without you needing to log in each time.

Office386setup

Once you have entered your details, you will be redirected back to the CRM. A green banner will show at the top of the page notifying you that the link has been successful.

O365.2

Next, click the Back button, which will take you to the setup page for the Office 365 integration. As you are already logged in, on this occasion you will see the details of your integration and you will be able to make changes to the integration settings.

O365.3

There are a few important things to be aware of on this page and edit to your preferences.

  1. The top of the page shows whether you are connected to Microsoft or whether there is an error in the configuration. It will also show the date and time of your last synchronisation with the Microsoft servers. In this first instance, it will show ‘Awaiting first sync’ whilst it awaits the first 5-minutely job to run.
     office365
  2. You can customise how your contacts will be synchronised with Microsoft using the dropdown list. This allows you to choose between one-way sync from either Office 365 to the CRM or from the CRM to Office 365, or two-way synchronisation between both systems:

O365.4

3. On the right-hand side, you will see the details that Microsoft will receive from the CRM under the current configuration settings:

office365.1

4. Task and Calendar sync is turned off by default. It can be turned on by switching the toggle button at the bottom of the page:

Office365.2

Once this is switched on you will get a further panel for your task settings:

O365.10

5. Using the dropdown list, you can choose whether to sync items to the Microsoft Calendar or the Microsoft Task List:

O365.5

6. You can choose whether or not to be notified in Office 365 of any all-day events created by using a default notification time:

O365.11

7. The same notification can be set on timed tasks, but is limited to a specific set of choices, stipulated and controlled by Microsoft:

O365.13

8. You can change the name of the account that any tasks imported from Office 365 are assigned to (The system is not aware of any account linkage between Office 365 tasks and CRM accounts):

O365.7

Daily Usage

Creating New Contacts

Once connected, creating new contacts in either system will result in an identical record being created in each system. For a contact being created in the CRM, it will be reciprocally created in Office 365 in the Really Simple Systems folder. Please note, contacts held outside of this folder will not be synchronised with the CRM so you should always keep your Office 365 contacts for the CRM within that folder.

Likewise, creating a contact within the Really Simple Systems folder in Office 365, or moving an existing contact into it, will enable the CRM to find it and import it into the system in one of three ways:

  1. If the Company line of the Office 365 contact matches the name of a CRM account: The contact will be imported into the appropriate CRM account.
  2. If the Company line of the Office 365 contact does not match a company in the CRM: A new account will be created that company name and the contact will be imported into it.
  3. If the Company line of the Office 365 contact is blank: The contact will be imported into the account “From Office 365″.

The Office 365 Contacts Folder

The Really Simple Systems folder which is created as part of the integration process with Microsoft, is integral to the synchronisation of contacts within the system. Anything that is put in the folder will be interpreted as a synchronisable object. Do not delete this folder as this may cause issues with your synchronisation setup.

Editing a Contact’s Company Details

As when creating a contact, when you edit a contact’s company details in Office 365 the system will look for the best of the three options to use, i.e. match an account, create a new account, or add to the default account “From Office 365″.

When a contact’s details are changed in the CRM, that change will synchronise back into O365 under the Company details.

Disconnecting the Integration

It is important to note that the CRM is deemed as the “true source” of data in terms of contact synchronisation with Microsoft. Therefore, when the integration is disconnected, the CRM will delete the Really Simple Systems folder and all of its contents. You will be warned of this before proceeding.

To disconnect the integration, go to Settings > Integrations > Mail, Contacts & Calendars Integrations, where you will be presented with the option to disconnect your current Office 365 Integration:

O365.8

Clicking “Remove Integration” will take you through the details of what will happen when you disconnect the integration.

O365.9

As previously mentioned, this process will remove all your CRM contacts from the Office 365 folder. To keep these contacts you will need to move them to your personal folder at this stage.

Once all contacts have been safely taken care of, you may click on Remove Integration and begin the process.

When the disconnection process has completed, a green banner will be displayed confirming the integration has been disconnected successfully, and that your contacts and tasks will no longer synchronise.